Do Plumbers Need a License?

If you want to become a plumber, you need to know what is required by the state to get a license. Most states have different requirements, and it is important to learn about your state’s specific requirements before hiring a plumber.
New York

If you’re planning to become a plumber, it’s not too late to get your license. However, you should check your local rules first. You may be required to carry a surety bond, or provide a cash deposit for your services.

The most obvious requirement is to register with your local government to receive a license. Once registered, you should also obtain a business license, and a workers’ compensation insurance policy.

New York’s licensing process is not uniform, and there are different requirements depending on the county or municipality you work in. Depending on read this blog post from Candu Plumbing of Chatsworth and qualifications, you might have to complete a higher degree or take the state’s licensing exam.

While the exact licensing requirements will vary, most states require a few years of training to get your start. A trade school program will teach you the basics, and you can get an apprenticeship through a formal trade organization. In the end, you’ll have the opportunity to become a skilled tradesman, and you can take advantage of certifications to boost your pay and marketability.
Candu Plumbing of Chatsworth explained in a blog post

If you plan to work as a plumber in California, you’ll need a license. Licenses are needed to perform work on homes and businesses, as well as to pull building permits and do plumbing inspections. In addition, a license gives you a competitive advantage over other plumbers.

To get your license, you’ll need to pass two exams. The first one is a trade-specific exam. It covers the basics of plumbing, such as the different types of pipes and fixtures.

For the other, you’ll need to pass a law and business exam. This is a little more technical, examining topics such as construction law and business management. Obtaining a valid license can increase your chances of getting hired and keep you out of trouble with the local government.

There are hundreds of trade schools and apprenticeship programs in California, each with its own requirements and fees. Depending on the program, the cost of the license can range from about $1,000 to $23,000.
Illinois

If you want to work as a plumber in Illinois, you’ll need to get licensed. This is done through the Illinois Department of Public Health. Licenses are required for both apprentice and journeyman plumbers.

Applicants for the license must have completed two years of high school and a minimum of four years of employment as a licensed apprentice plumber. They must also have passed the state’s licensing exam and paid the appropriate fee.

Plumbers must also maintain a minimum of $100,000 in general liability insurance, as well as $25,000 in small business insurance. You must display the license number on your company’s business cards and advertisements.


Plumbing is a reputable profession that pays well. It requires good customer service skills, as well as physical fitness. However, you should be aware that the requirements vary by state.

In Illinois, you can get a license as a journeyman plumber. You’ll need to complete at least two years of training, plus 240 hours of formal training. Plus, you’ll need to have at least eight years of experience under a licensed plumber.
Texas

Getting a license to work as a plumber in Texas is a legal requirement. A licensed plumber is a professional who possesses a wide variety of skills and knowledge. They take pride in their work and strive to achieve excellence in craftsmanship.

Depending on the level of license, an individual may need to be trained, pass multiple tests, and complete on-the-job experience. Plumbers are required to carry liability insurance. The policy will cover medical and property damages that might arise from working in a plumbing company.

Before becoming a licensed plumber, an applicant must pass a criminal background check. If there are felony convictions on an applicant’s record, they may be denied a license.

Plumbing is a vocation that requires an extensive amount of education and on-the-job training. In Texas, the average plumber has 8,000 hours of on-the-job experience. It is recommended that prospective plumbers seek out a state-approved training course.

TSBPE (Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners) is the agency responsible for licensing plumbers in the state. There are 35,300 registered plumbers in the state.

Candu Plumbing of Chatsworth
9726 Variel Ave, Chatsworth, CA 91311
(818) 492-3067
https://www.canduplumbing.com/plumbers-in-chatsworth/